November 15, 2017

President M. Roy Wilson installed as new board chair of the Association of American Medical Colleges; also serves as board member with the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities

The Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) recently announced that Wayne State University President M. Roy Wilson, M.D., is the new chair of the AAMC Board of Directors. He assumed the chair on Nov. 7 and will serve a one-year term. His term will run until November 2018, at which time he will become immediate past chair.

He succeeds Marsha D. Rappley, M.D., chief executive officer and vice president for health sciences at Virginia Commonwealth University Health System.

“I hope to build on the momentum that former AAMC chairs have established and sustained over their years of visionary leadership,” Wilson said. “The vital contributions that medical schools and teaching hospitals make to health care, public health and innovative research in this country position the United States as a global health care leader. I’m honored and humbled to serve as board chair of the AAMC, and I’m eager to roll up my sleeves and get to work.”

Wilson has been president of Wayne State University since 2013. Prior to joining Wayne State, he served as deputy director for strategic scientific planning and program coordination at the National Institute on Minority Health and Health Disparities of the National Institutes of Health. Previously, he was dean of the School of Medicine and vice president for health sciences at Creighton University, president of the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, and, concurrently, chancellor of the University of Colorado Denver/Anschutz Medical Campus and chair of the Board of Directors of University of Colorado Hospital. He also chaired the Board of Directors of the Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science.

Founded in 1876 and based in Washington, D.C., the Association of American Medical Colleges is a not-for-profit association dedicated to transforming health care through innovative medical education, cutting-edge patient care, and groundbreaking medical research. Its members comprise all 149 accredited U.S. and 17 accredited Canadian medical schools; nearly 400 major teaching hospitals and health systems, including 51 Department of Veterans Affairs medical centers; and more than 80 academic societies. Through these institutions and organizations, the AAMC serves the leaders of America’s medical schools and teaching hospitals and their nearly 167,000 full-time faculty members, 88,000 medical students, and 124,000 resident physicians.

In addition, the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU) recently announced its Board of Directors. Wilson, who is also on APLU’s board, leads the APLU’s Commission on Information, Measurement, and Analysis. APLU board members work to make public institutions of higher education more effective in delivering high-quality and affordable higher education alongside cutting-edge research and robust community and economic engagement.

To read the AAMC’s announcement, please click on


Ted Montgomery
Phone: 248-880-6838

Subscribe to Today@Wayne

Direct to your inbox twice a week