October 31, 2019

Assessment luncheon celebrates dedicated faculty, staff and students

Wayne State University celebrated the work of faculty, staff and students at its annual Assessment Recognition Luncheon on Oct. 22. Provost Keith Whitfield, Associate Provost for Academic Programs and Associate Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness Darin Ellis and other WSU leaders thanked invited guests for their leadership in the university’s assessment initiatives.

“In many ways, assessment is like scholarship. One question leads to the next and then the next. It grows and continues to inform,” said Whitfield. “There’s so much that we can learn through that process that will help make our programs better and help make the educational outcomes of our students better.”

Invited guests included poster honorees, WSU Program Assessment grant recipients, general education assessment planning participants, assessment coordinators and committee members, and members of the University Assessment Council.  

Poster honorees:

  • College of Education: Sport Management (B.S.)
    • Tiffany Edgar, Candice Howard, Laurel Whalen
  • College of Education: Educational Studies (Ph.D.)
    • Chris Crowley, Kate Roberts, Tom Pedroni
  • College of Engineering: Industrial Engineering (M.S.)
    • Evrim Dalkiran, Susan Dials, Alper Murat
  • College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts: Journalism (B.A.)
    • Jessica Greenwald, Kim Piper-Aiken, Elizabeth Stoycheff, Sheila Tomkowiak
  • College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts: Public Relations (B.A.)
    • Jessica Greenwald, Rosie Jahng, Shelly Najor
  • School of Information Sciences: Archival Administration (G.C.)
    • Chris D’Arpa, Kimberly Schroeder
  • College of Liberal Arts and Sciences: Anthropology (B.A.)
    • Andrew Newman, Harmanpreet Singh
  • College of Liberal Arts and Sciences: English (Ph.D.)
    • Richard Marback, Tony DeGenaro, Matt Linton, Isaac Pickell, Diana Rosenberger
  • College of Liberal Arts and Sciences: Psychology (M.A.)
    • Susie Brummelte, Emily Grekin, Cata Kopetz
  • Eugene Applebaum College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences: Pharmacy (Pharm.D.)
    • Opal Bacon, Brandon Bott, Aloke Dutta, Chris Giuliano, Justine Gortney, Paul Kilgore, Minakshi Lahiri, Melissa Lipari, Richard Lucarotti, Zhengping Yi
  • Student Services: Registrar
    • Nancy Beckett, Ken Harris, Mark Jacek, Kurt Kruschinska, Nancy McQuaide, Amanda Pender, Aaron Pobursky

Assessment Grant Recipients:

  • Irvin D. Reid Honors College: Honors Undergraduate Program — Assessing Skills Development and Knowledge Retention Among Honors College Students: Comparing Freshman-Level Curricular Outcomes
    • Beth Fowler, Tim Moran, Kevin Deegan-Krause, Kevin Rashid
  • Wayne Law: J.D. — Clicking to Assessment Success
    • Michelle Taylor, Susan Cancelosi, Meghan Short, Christopher Lund, Anthony Dillof
  • College of Liberal Arts and Sciences: English — WSU Composition Learning Community: How LC Participation during BC and ICN Courses Impacts Students’ Academic Success
    • Nicole Varty, Jule Thomas, Austin VanKirk, Sarah Primeau, Adrienne Jankens
  • College of Nursing: B.S.N. — NCLEX Success: Increasing Clinical Judgment and Incorporating HESI Review through the Nursing Undergraduate Curriculum 
    • Erik Carter, Toefanes Natavio, Olubunmi Daramola, Elizabeth McQuillen, Michael Mooney, Jessica Parker
  • Student Services: APEX — APEX Program Assessment using the Council for the Advancement of Standards in Higher Education
    • Veronica Killebrew, Mark Jackson, Audrey Whitfield, Stephanie Hawkes, Robert Giles, Nicholas Patterson

To learn more about assessment at Wayne State, visit wayne.edu/assessment or contact Director of Assessment Cathy Barrette at c.barrette@wayne.edu.

Photos by Marlena Frontera, Assistant to the Associate Provost of Academic Programs

Subscribe to Today@Wayne

Direct to your inbox twice a week