January 20, 1997

Three WSU board members to take oath of office Tuesday, Jan. 28

Three members of the Wayne State University Board of Governors will be sworn in during ceremonies beginning at 5 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 28, in the university's McGregor Memorial Conference Center. A reception will follow the program.

Taking the oath of office will be Vernice D. Anthony, Murray Jackson and Annetta Miller. Anthony and Jackson are incumbents. Miller is a new board member.

Anthony, whose previous one-year appointment to the board ended in December, was re-appointed recently by Gov. John Engler to fill the unexpired term of Michael Timmis, who resigned from the board effective December 31. Her appointment runs through 1998.

Longtime board member Jackson was re-elected and Miller newly elected to eight-year terms in the Nov. 5 statewide general election. Jackson was first elected in November 1980. Miller served on the Michigan Board of Education for 24 years.


Public Relations
Phone: (313) 577-2150

Subscribe to Today@Wayne

Direct to your inbox twice a week