September 18, 2020

Wayne State makes up nearly 40 percent of student presentations accepted to American College of Physicians annual meeting

Students from the Wayne State University School of Medicine will make up more than one-third of the student projects accepted to the Michigan chapter of the American College of Physicians Annual Scientific Meeting next month.

student standing in front of her poster presentation

Of 84 student posters accepted from the seven allopathic and osteopathic medical schools across the state, 32 of them, or 38%, will be presented by School of Medicine physicians in training. The meeting will be held virtually Oct. 15-18. Students will present in categories that include quality improvement, clinical vignette and research.

“Our students have always been exceedingly active, and the trend is for increased involvement of our students,” said Professor of Internal Medicine Diane Levine, M.D., FACP. “The joyous thing is, I believe that many of these represent people who are interested in going into Internal Medicine, and this helps advance their career.”

Dr. Levine is the department’s vice chair for Education, directs the Internal Medicine Clerkship and advises the Internal Medicine Interest Group at the school of medicine.

“We’ve always had wide participation in the American College of Physicians, but I think this year we seem to have done really well in acceptances in the abstract section for students,” she said. “I’m really proud of our students and our faculty who have mentored them.”

This year’s mentors include recent Wayne State University School of Medicine graduates who are now residents.

“Our students are working collaboratively with residents as well as with faculty,” she said. “In addition to the usual rare cases and unusual cases, we did also see some aspects of medical error in a couple of these cases, as well as a significant number of fourth-year students participating, which may reflect the new curriculum with early clinical exposure.”

ACP is a national organization of internists, the largest medical specialty organization, and the second-largest physician group in the United States. Its 163,000 members include internists, internal medicine subspecialists, medical students, residents and fellows.

Students scheduled to present work include:

Fouad Abdole

Madeline Adelman

Abdelwahab Ahmed

Noel Akioyamen

Joshua Brady

Connor Buechler

Fiona Clowney

Sawsan Edriss

Bassem Farah

Aria Ganz-Waple

Megan Harrison

Luke Horton

Inara Ismailova

Janice Lau

Eric Lisznyai

Lucia Luna Wong

Ahila Manivannan

Arif Musa

Hailey Olds

Aaron Panicker

Kelley Park

Jaya Parulekar

Dhruvil Patel

Daniel Quan

Tyler Russeth

Siri Sarvepalli

Vinoja Sebanayagam

Kathren Shango

Rebecca Sturgis

Bhavana Tetali

Chloe Theeuwes

David Tran

Subscribe to Today@Wayne

Direct to your inbox 3 times a week