June 11, 2024

School of Medicine faculty among celebrated at Wayne State University Academic Recognition Ceremony

With President Kimberly Andrews Espy, Ph.D., Assistant Professor of Family Medicine and Public Health Sciences Rhonda Dailey, M.D., at right, showcases her Community Engagement Award.

Following the winter 2024 semester, faculty and academic staff from across campus were celebrated for their contributions to the university, academic community and professional development. Faculty and staff members were recognized at the annual Academic Recognition Ceremony.

“I’m so impressed by our incredible faculty and staff, whose dedication is critical as we work together to fulfill the shared promise in our Prosperity Agenda to better the lives of our students, push the boundaries of knowledge further, and strengthen the bonds that interconnect Wayne State and our community,” said President Kimberly Andrews Espy, Ph.D. “Their efforts are propelling Wayne State’s future.”

“Wayne State’s faculty and staff continue to go above and beyond to support Wayne State University’s core mission of providing a world-class education and being an engine for opportunity,” said Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs Laurie Lauzon Clabo. “I am grateful for the innovative spirit that so many leaders on campus have displayed in their exceptional service, scholarship, and teaching and mentoring. Their work is an inspiration for us all.”

School of Medicine faculty members who were recognized include:

  • Erin Carmany, M.S., CGC, associate professor (clinical) of the Center for Molecular Medicine and Genetics in the School of Medicine, received the President’s Award for Excellence in Teaching. The award recognizes faculty members who have made outstanding contributions to teaching.
  • Maik Hüttemann, Ph.D., professor of Molecular Medicine and Genetics, and of Biochemistry, Microbiology and Immunology, and division director for Research in the Center for Molecular Medicine and Genetics, received the Board of Governors Faculty Recognition Award. The award is presented annually to members of the regular full-time faculty in recognition of a work of merit brought to fruition in the 12-month period immediately preceding the year of the award. The work of merit is a single act or event that constituted an outstanding contribution to scholarship and learning.
  • Rhonda Dailey, M.D., assistant professor of Family Medicine and Public Health Sciences, received the Community Engagement Award, which is presented to full-time or part-time faculty members, academic staff members, or faculty-staff teams in recognition of community-based research, creative activities, teaching and service collaborations that positively impact both the community and scholarship.
  • Ryan Thummel, Ph.D., associate professor of Ophthalmology, Visual and Anatomical Sciences, received the Outstanding Graduate Mentor Award, which honors graduate faculty recognized by their departments and their graduate students as excellent mentors.


  • Robert Wessells, Ph.D., associate professor of Physiology, received the Outstanding Graduate Director Service Award. The award is co-sponsored by the Office of the Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs and the Graduate School to highlight the important service of graduate directors in advancing graduate education in their programs.

Subscribe to Today@Wayne

Direct to your inbox each week