May 3, 2024

School of Medicine’s master and doctorate graduates celebrated at two commencements at Wayne State fieldhouse

Master's degree candidates graduated from the School of Medicine at the May 2 commencement ceremony.

Wayne State University’s spring 2024 Commencement series featured seven ceremonies over three days, held at the Wayne State University Fieldhouse in Detroit.

For the School of Medicine’s degree candidates, a hooding and commencement was held May 1 for doctoral candidates and a commencement was held May 2 for master’s candidates. The ceremonies included congratulatory remarks from President Dr. Kimberly Andrews Espy, members of the WSU Board of Governors, faculty, and the deans of participating schools and colleges.

“I can assure you, the sense of accomplishment today, and the love that you have nurtured of your area of study is truly remarkable and will never end. Today confirms that you have made significant impact in contribution to your field. And the best part is it is just the beginning,” said President Espy, reflecting upon the first ceremony on her own doctoral journey.

Graduates affiliated with the School of Medicine included five candidates for Doctor of Philosophy degrees, as well as 22 candidates for Master of Public Health degrees, 12 candidates for Master of Science degrees, eight for Master of Science in Genetic Counseling degrees and 15 candidates for Master of Science in Basic Medical Sciences degrees.

Graduates and their degrees include:

Doctor of Philosophy

Abdullah Al-Homoudi

Scott Baughan

James Matchynski

Anthony Maxwell

Nolan O’Hara

Master of Public Health

May 2024

Noor Abou-Rass

Zainab Ahmed

Nora Nicole Akcasu

Naga Vijaya Lakshmi Divya Boorle

Zachary Michael Cichon

Kennedy Lauren Cioccio

Ja’Lea Simone Echols

Dyelle Ryanna Frederick

Nicole Erin Golder

Kayla Habhab

Alise Elizabeth Hale

LaToya Nikole Hall

Asiimwe Teresa Najjuma

Madison Ann Pavliscak

Thor A. Person

Charlee M. Pniewski

Afsana Shalim Rinky

Carly Schulz

Haley Lynn Shier

Alyssa Emily Zokvic

August 2024

Stephanie Marie Kastely

Klaudia Vushaj

Master of Science

Vaishnavi Akula

Haiqa Arain

Alan Luis Carbajo Jr.

Sanjeev Ganesh

Praneeth Goli

Luke Aaron Layman

Holly R. McQuithey

Teja Sai Pandrangi

Sushmita Rohit Patil

Apoorva Dinesh Rao

Dorah Dickson Stephen

Andrew M. Voloshin

Master of Science in Basic Medical Sciences

 May 2024

Anthony Eugene Cade

Ryan Olivar Dulay

Zachary Paul Hart

Noor Ismail

Iveta Kopil

Brandon Robert Kowatch

Hussein Hassan Makki

Shaun Parveen Masih

Tazia Sultana Miah

Logan Lake Michelini

Katherine Sarah Uttara Parker

Sam Chris Raphtis

Nikhil Sundaram

August 2024

Nolan A. Underwood

Luke Wesemann

Master of Science in Genetic Counseling

Ryleigh Danielle Arndt

Maggie Anne Bowler

Sophia Marie Bradley

Christopher Charbel Doumith

Kristen Noel Ewald

Allison N. Hartwick

Rebecca Ross

Emma A. Snavely




Subscribe to Today@Wayne

Direct to your inbox twice a week