June 11, 2021

ANA honors Dr. Robert Lisak with Distinguished Neurology Teacher Award

The American Neurological Association, the leading scholarly society for academic neurologists, will honor a Wayne State University School of Medicine faculty member with its prestigious award for teaching.

Robert Lisak, M.D.,

Robert Lisak, M.D., professor of Neurology and former chair of the WSU Department of Neurology, will receive the ANA’s 2021 Distinguished Neurology Teacher Award during the association’s Derek Denny-Brown Young Neurological Scholar Symposium at the virtual Annual Meeting, to be held Oct. 17-19.

The oldest neurology society in the West and the second oldest scholarly scientific society in the United States, the ANA presents the award only once a year.

"I am honored and pleased to receive this award,” said Dr. Lisak. “I am most proud of my students, residents, fellows, graduate students and postdoctoral fellows and their accomplishments."

The ANA established the award to recognize outstanding accomplishments in teaching neurology students and to recognize and reward contributions by gifted and talented teachers in neurology.

A member of the School of Medicine faculty since 1987, Dr. Lisak served as chair of the department from 1987 to 2012, as neurologist-in-chief of the Detroit Medical Center from 1987 to 2011 and as chief of Neurology at Harper University Hospital and its predecessors from 1987 to 2012.

Subscribe to Today@Wayne

Direct to your inbox twice a week