October 19, 2020

Dr. Anne Messman named chair of Women in Medicine and Science at WSU School of Medicine

The Women in Medicine and Science group for the Wayne State University School of Medicine has announced that Anne Messman, M.D., M.H.P.E., is the new chair.

The group works to advance women at all career levels within academic medicine and science by addressing gender equity, recruitment and retention, awards and recognition, work-life balance and career advancement. WIMS hosts events open to all interested men and women faculty, staff and students within academic medicine and science.

Dr. Messman is the vice chair of Education for the Department of Emergency Medicine and works clinically at Sinai-Grace and Detroit Receiving hospitals. A native of Michigan, she studied mathematics

Anne Messman, M.D.

at the University of Michigan and received her medical degree from George Washington University in Washington, D.C. She completed her residency in Emergency Medicine at St. John Hospital in Detroit, where she was a faculty member and assistant program director before beginning work at the Detroit Medical Center in 2015.

She has been a member of the WIMS Advisory Committee as well as group treasurer. She is dedicated to equity and inclusion for women at the School of Medicine and beyond.

In 2018, the Emergency Medicine Residents Association selected Dr. Messman as its 2018 Associate Residency Director of the Year for her dedication and commitment to the specialty. The award, given to one recipient nationally per year, recognizes an assistant or associate residency director who serves as a role model for residents and exemplifies the qualities that residents value in a mentor. The honoree is chosen for going above and beyond to support resident issues, well-being and involvement through emergency training and by fostering active participation in organized medicine, research and community service.

She also received the Council of Emergency Medicine Residency Directors Academy Award for Scholarship in Education, in the teaching and evaluation category. The award is presented to attending physicians inducted into the CORD Academy of Scholars, which recognizes educators who have an exemplary record of achievement in Emergency Medicine education and advancing the development of a network of mentors for future growth in Emergency Medicine education.

Claire Pearson, M.D., an Emergency Medicine physician at St. John Hospital in Detroit, is the WIMS chair-elect and will become chair in October 2022.

Beena Sood, M.D., professor of Pediatrics and associate dean for Professional Development in the Office of Faculty Affairs and Professional Development, is the immediate past chair after many years of service to WIMS. She will continue to be actively involved with the group.

Under her leadership, WIMS organized lectureships, workshops, panel discussions and book clubs to engage faculty in diverse topics, including gender pay gap, negotiation skills, climbing the academic ladder, work-life balance, getting to the C Suite and under-representation of women in surgical specialties. The group has expanded its reach by engaging trainees to prepare them for future academic success. She has mentored numerous undergraduate and medical students, residents, fellows and junior faculty, almost half of them women.