August 22, 2017

International symposium on proteases developed to honor career of Dr. Bonnie Sloane

The Wayne State University School of Medicine's Department of Pharmacology, the School of Medicine and the Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Institute have developed a symposium in tribute to the longtime chair of Pharmacology, Bonnie Sloane, Ph.D.

The daylong international symposium, "Proteases in Cancer Biology," is scheduled to take place from 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. Nov. 3. Further details will be announced at a later date.

Dr. Sloane, a WSU distinguished professor, chaired the Department of Pharmacology from 1995 until she stepped down from the position to continue conducting research in late 2015. From 1999 to 2005, she led the Karmanos Cancer Institute's Proteases and Cancer Program.

In addition to conducting her own proteolysis research, Dr. Sloane mentored many young researchers, including international scientists. One of her proteges, Mona Mostafa Mohamed, Ph.D., is now the director of Cairo University's Cancer Biology Research Laboratory, which opened in 2009. Dr. Sloane served as her mentor and provided oversight for Dr. Mohamed's inflammatory breast cancer research from 2005 to April 2007.

In 2012, Dr. Sloane received the Pan-American Association for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Plenary Lecturer Award during the 41st annual meeting of the Brazilian Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Society. That same year she received the WSU Outstanding Research Achievement Award, given to a faculty member in a basic science or clinical department who has made significant and career-long contributions to the advancement of an area of biomedical, behavioral, clinical or medical research.

Her work in the field of proteolysis research earned Dr. Sloane a Lifetime Membership Award for outstanding contributions from the International Proteolysis Society in 2010. She served as president of the organization from 1999 to 2001, and on its council from 2003 to 2007.

Dr. Sloane received the 2005 Lawrence M. Weiner Award from the Wayne State University Medical Alumni Association. The award honors the outstanding contributions of individuals who are not medical alumni of the School of Medicine, recognizing exceptional performance in teaching, research and/or administrative duties.