October 4, 2016

Society of General Internal Medicine names Diane Levine, M.D. '82 Clinician Educator of the Year

The Wayne State University School of Medicine's Diane Levine, M.D. '82, was honored Sept. 23 as one of two 2016 Clinician Educators of the Year at the Midwest Society of General Internal Medicine's regional meeting in Cleveland.

Dr. Levine, an associate professor and vice chair of Education for the Department of Internal Medicine, attended the meeting with six School of Medicine students who presented five posters at the event as well.

She directs the school's Internal Medicine Clerkship, and was recognized by the awards committee for her continued support and mentorship of medical students, including leading the change to make the organization's regional conferences more student-friendly and emphasizing the importance of student leadership representation on its board.

"Receiving the award from the Midwest SGIM is an honor. This group changed the trajectory of my career," Dr. Levine said. "They provided networking opportunities and opportunities for collaborative work. It also provided an opportunity to introduce students to SGIM - an incredible organization committed to education, decreasing disparities and delivery of the highest quality of patient care."

Student attendees included Dana Sugar, whose poster "Norco induced necrosis of nasal mucosa: Complications of prescription narcotic insufflation and abuse" won third place in the clinical vignette competition; Georgi Fram and Alexandra Matthews, "Celiac & Mesenteric Artery Stenosis Presenting with Gastroduodenal Ulcers: A Care Report;" Leedor Lieberman, "Entrepreneurship in medicine: The need for an engineering and design curriculum;" Nousha Hefzi, "Cluster Rounds: A new technique in bedside medicine;" and Jacob Jeffers, "Cognitive Errors: A real pain in the back," whose poster won an honorable mention.

The society's Midwest region includes Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

Dr. Levine also has received the WSU President's Award for Excellence in Teaching in 2011, and the Class of 2008's Staff Award, presented annually to a clinical instructor elected by the senior class.