June 8, 2020

WDET announces winners of the 2020 SPJ Detroit Excellence in Journalism awards

The Society of Professional Journalists — Detroit Chapter distributed more than 240 awards to metro Detroit’s best journalists, who were recently announced as winners in the 2020 SPJ Detroit Excellence in Journalism competition. The annual competition honors the best in journalism in Southeastern Michigan, spanning all mediums, including print, radio, television and digital. 

WDET swept virtually every award in the radio category, winning 18 of the 21 total awards, along with one award in the digital category. 

WDET has always prided itself on being Detroit’s best resource for reliable, fact-based news and journalistic excellence. Now more than ever, with newspaper closures and commercial media cutbacks, public radio stations such as WDET prove themselves to be vital sources of trusted local news and information. WDET winners include: 


  • Pat Batcheller 
  • Laura Herberg 
  • Quinn Klinefelter 
  • David Leins
  • Russ McNamara
  • Jake Neher
  • Eli Newman 
  • Jerome Vaughn


  • Shiraz Ahmed
  • LaToya Cross 
  • Amanda LeClaire

 A full list of winners can be found here

About SPJ

The Society of Professional Journalists believe that public enlightenment is the forerunner of justice and the foundation of democracy. The duty of the journalist is to further those ends by seeking truth and providing a fair and comprehensive account of events and issues.

About WDET-FM 101.9

For more than 70 years, from our Midtown Detroit location on the campus of Wayne State University, WDET-FM 101.9, Detroit’s NPR Station, delivers a unique mix of news, conversation, special programs and music programming. Our powerful 48,000-watt broadcast signal reaches a 70-mile radius across all of Southeast Michigan, Northwest Ohio and Southwest Ontario. It expands nationally through our live stream, website, mobile app and podcasts. WDET-FM 101.9 is a community service of Wayne State University. Support for WDET comes from Wayne State, the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, local foundations, and through private donors and corporate underwriting.


Toby Tabaczynski
Phone: 313-577-4255
Email: tobyt@wdet.org

Subscribe to Today@Wayne

Direct to your inbox 3 times a week